I Love Kit 1/700 Bismarck part 4.

Part 2.

Part 3.

Part 4.

Damn, I forgot that I had not posted the finished photos.

Anyhow. The great work is finished. I still have two PE sheets with tiny bits left, but somehow I could not find many part’s location -and after a while I just gave up as it made no difference, really. Also the rigging -as usual- is not historically accurate. It is my model, and I could not face spending hours and hours painstakingly recreate the intricate rigging patterns. I know I should, but since it is my model, I think I am fine.

I kept putting off painting the boats and the airplanes -which was the main reason for the delay in finishing the model. I ended up using my airbrush for both (the reason for the foot-dragging as it takes time to set everything up), but once I was done it was actually quite nice. I put up the missing PE here and there, retouched the paint, added some filters, some subtle washes, and called it a day. (Decided against heavy weathering as these ships were quite well maintained until, that is, someone shot holes in them.)

I mounted the model inside a large display case – it is not large enough for a 1/350 ship, such as the Markgraf (which is not even that big, compared to the WWII battleships), but can house three 1/700 model. Which it will do.

2 thoughts on “I Love Kit 1/700 Bismarck part 4.”

Leave a comment