Forgeworld: Magnus the Red

Finally it seems like the curse has been broken, and I managed to find inspiration to finish Magnus.

As I mentioned the white cape did not turn out well; I repainted the whole thing in French blue (AK Interactive), and did some shading using wet blending methods (so I do not use oils only). I found some of the parchment strips hanging from his coat (I have been with this figure since two years ago, and it has moved countries with me half-painted). I painted the details using water-soluble oils, though – they give a nice, transparent effect.

I tried to give some of the iridescent effect to the feathers; I think they turned out OK. I also played with the skin-tones: I did some shades using purple. I have read a long time ago someone mentioning this -and surprisingly it works.

Anyhow, it is finished, and took its place in my cabinet. Off to finishing off the big E, and the other running projects. God, help me find strength not to start new ones until I do.

3 thoughts on “Forgeworld: Magnus the Red”

    1. Thank you. While it is definitely not to the standards of professional (and hard-core) paintings, I am really pleased with him. I know, people actually paint irises on eyes and whatnot, I am not this devoted. I applaud these masters – but I like how he came out nevertheless.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment