Das Werk – Ramtiger 1/35, part 1.

So this fictional vehicle has fascinated me since I first saw it fifteen years ago; I was looking at 1/72 conversions, opportunities to build it myself from scratch but never actually progressed with this project. (If you wish to do so, check out this link…) Das Werk issued this model based on Amusing Hobby’s Porsche Tiger, and since it was relatively cheap I jumped on it. (Let it be a lesson about hoarding I guess.)

The model is quick to build, but suffers from a couple of issues.

The tracks are -obviously- same as the Ferdinand kit’s from Amusing Hobby. They are NOT workable, unless you are extremely good with the glue. I simply treated them as “ordinary” individual link tracks, and glue them into place. Assembly was not especially painful, unlike the Grant’s tracks. In fact, I went with gluing everything in place before painting -suspension, drive wheels, tracks – the whole assembly. This is something I normally do not do as it makes painting the lower hull and the tracks somewhat awkward, but in this case I thought I might as well try something new. We will see how it works out.

Same issue with the suspension: supposed to be workable, but the tiny springs are anything but. They are simply not strong enough to have any sort of resistance and spring. As I said I just did not bother with them and glued everything in place. The roadwheels were difficult to install straight, as there was too much play, and as a result, were kind of wobbly. Not ideal.

A big (potential) problem with the kit: the turret ring is not covered -and the empty space is (barely) visible through the gap on the armor. There is a huge gap there, and you do not have the turret ring’s structure, either, so this opening may need to be covered. It is not very visible (the gap is small), so it is really up to the builder.

(Good news: the interior has different raised markings inside corresponding to bulkheads and other internal structures suggesting that the Tiger (P) will be issued with a full interior…)

The top armor is one piece; pretty impressive molding. It seems quite well-done, although there seems to be some slight indentations on the large, flat sides. We will see how much of it is visible once painted.

There is a glaring fit issue: the top of the hull’s superstructure is somewhat awkward to install; most of it will be invisible, fortunately. Not sure how it works in the Tiger (P) model, though, as it left a couple of visible gaps (which are then covered by the armored shield).

Will need to add some battle damage to the shield, and it is ready for the paint. Any and all suggestions are welcome about the color scheme.

Overall, quick build, interesting vehicle.

3 thoughts on “Das Werk – Ramtiger 1/35, part 1.”

  1. Ah! You tackled another version of my favourite tank/afv. Bit of an awkward one though but no surprise if you realise the idea seems to have come from non other than the Great Dictator himself.
    Just the big hole up front makes you wonder about the designer’s sanity.
    As for the tracks: HobbyBoss sells great quality separate track links at an extreme bargain price. Less than €10. I used them while upgrading my old Italeri Elefant and they went on perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Peter, I am glad you liked it 🙂 It is a fun tank. I would have probably preferred a 1/72 version (it is quite large), but the OOP resin conversion in itself cost more than the Das Werk model and I am not a masochist. I am not even sure how you are supposed to advance to some fortification, at the breakneck speed of 15km/hr (max), and somehow knock it down. Sure it is heavy, but 1. it is so slow it leaves a lot of time to counter it (the tracks are not protected, and there is that big hole in the front) 2. it does not seem to have enough momentum to actually damage anything. The engines are barely enough to move the tank, let alone provide extra power to push against reinforced concrete. It would be effective against houses, though, but then -any tank would be. (It is not a very good idea to drive into a house, in any way, due to the presence of cellars.)

      (I was thinking about the hole in the front, too – when you drive through a bunker, everything that falls onto the front will get in and block your sight. I am planning to fill up the space with some bricks and whatnot.) Now I just need to find some somewhat historical but colorful camo scheme. Perhaps I will look around in World of Tanks.

      Like

Leave a comment