Loken and Abaddon

I painted this set about seven years ago, but only now did I get it out of its box… This is a renderition of the final battle between Abaddon and Loken– two members of HorusMournival. An epic, tragic battle which ended with the (supposed) death of Loken, marking the end of a heroic Astrates who stood up against the corruption of everything he believed in, by the hand of his former battle brother. A great scene fitting to a Greek tragedy- until Black Library decided to void the whole thing, and “resurrect” Loken for no good reason whatsoever.

Pity.

Anyhow, the mini is produced by Forgeworld. I made a “small” change: since on the original Abaddon held the sword in a way that ensured that he missed Loken completely, I simply added a second power claw. This way he is reaching out for him, ready to crush his chainsword/face. It also makes simple tasks, like operating switches or rubbing one’s nose impossible, but WH40K was never about practicalities.

Here is an awesome paintjob on the original setup. OK, I am very far from this level.

In the original, if you take a look at it, the swing is already on its downward phase, which will end up with Abaddon being completely defenceless by the time they clash together with Loken. And when I mean clash, I do mean running into each other. The pose would work well if you use the miniature on its own: it looks like if he was using his sword to signal an attack, but with Loken present it looks a bit disjointed in my opinion. I also left out Loken’s cape as I completely agree with Edna.

https://gfycat.com/serenebrightconey

Leave a comment