Artel W Miniatures: Angron, the Red Angel, WIP

I normally do not do WIPs for figures because a.) I am not a great painter b.) they are not the main focus of this blog.

But since I have been working on a few since, well, for a while now, I decided to do three WIPs. This is the third: Angron, the Primarch of the World Eaters by Artel W Miniatures. Who did plently of wrong but he never really had a chance. I like his character because he actually had a reason to rebel, and did not just get a lame “touch a daemon possessed sword- boom, you are corrupted” treatment.

I much better like Artel W’s interpretation of him than Forgeworld’s

It just does not look as good

…not to mention the pose is the exact same one as Kharn’s… They both look like they are in a hurry to reach the end of a queue.

The armor was a combination of AK’s True Metal paints in several layers, with washes and oil paints. The leather was done using different browns, and the skin is left to be painted. (I tried oils on there as well, but they did not stick.) I added some chains to the chain-axes (as a gladiator he chained his weapon to his wrist, a custom that was followed by his Legion -and Sigismud, of all people.)

I just need to finish his skin, and I am all set. (I also have Artel W’s bust of him… back when I had more disposable income :D)

This guy will be featured here for sure. One day.

One thought on “Artel W Miniatures: Angron, the Red Angel, WIP”

Leave a comment