DML Flak 88 1/35 -act 2.

I’ve sung a lot of praises about the DML Flak 88 gun. I’ve shown my very first build of it -the model that has pushed me over to the armor models from airplanes-, and here is the second I did. I rarely repeat a build; normally I’d rather spend the time building something different. This is one of those kits that you MUST build, even if you prefer race cars or H0 Railroad stuff…
With this kit I wanted to depict the gun in a very different position than my first build. Whereas the first model was build showcasing the gun in a deployed state, with the gun shields attached, and in a German grey paint scheme, the new build was going to be an Afrika Korps gun without shield, still in transport mode (in which state the gun could still be fired I might add).

av0t3n7

 

vggihwr

 

The build was unremarkable. It’s a very complex model, but it’s still relatively easy to build.

ypnybov

rifling on the barreltvsvfvr4qzw8xz

 

The detail and the inclusion of extras simply make you feel like you’re working with the supercar version of scale models. Luxury in a box.

mfrj116

 

Functioning gun elevating mechanism…

xqq7tddbvw9sa0y9qftymk4r4r5siakqtto

hlqnguw

 

 

Paintingeuobvmmdnugn9nbqdgjyqltptjlmieyjzqcktiscnf8fnwzzw70waidl

 

Limbering up… the model is fully functioning in this respect as well -although you’d have to be careful about the delicate plastic parts.

lu5xgigf7gtujgpnqatiuawrxblugkpktkv2k2zzzp9xvmigg1epj4chw

 

Unfortunately, these are the photos I could find. As with the rest, all my US-built models are in storage, so I cannot show the finished product. (With the wheels on. If you can imagine the wheels, you’ll be set, though.)

 

Leave a Reply

